Press Release: 2020 Climate + Energy Awards Winners

2 months ago | Sep 17, 2020
Share us:



Dorothy Barnett


For Immediate Release: Thursday, September 17, 2020


The Climate + Energy Project Honors Bill Dorsett, Mary Adams Treaster,  Zack Pistora, Jasmin Moore, and Stanley Bergkamp 

Press Release pdf


Since 2017, the Climate + Energy Project has recognized individuals and organizations who are leading the way to a clean energy future. The 2020 Award winners include:

Impact Awards

Bill Dorsett, Flint Hills Renewable Energy and Efficiency Cooperative


Mark Richardson Sustainer Award

Mary Treaster, previous CEP Board member, CURB board member

Zack Pistora, Sierra Club, KNRC, Kansas Rural Center

Changemaker Award

Jasmin Moore, AICP,  Douglas County Sustainability Director

Stanley Bergkamp, Maize Public School

Impact Award: A lifetime achievement award recognizing an individual whose work resulted in positive, long-term, broad impacts in climate, energy, and environmental issues across the state.



Bill Dorsett, Flint Hills Renewable Energy and Efficiency Cooperative

Bill Dorsett began installing solar thermal systems with the Carter administration and with the collapse of that era’s tax credits, switched to passive attached solar greenhouses. With the construction of Wolf Creek Nuclear Power Station, he began installing remote photovoltaic pumping and power supplies. In 2005 he installed one of the first string inverter grid-connected system in Kansas. The advent of micro-inverters opened the field to safe installation to most anyone, so with the help of Manhattan friends, Bill co-founded the Flint Hills Renewable Energy & Efficiency Cooperative (or FHREEC as it’s affectionately referred to). Bill has taught (and will teach) anyone who wants to learn how to install solar panels. He has supervised over 50 installations. Over 700 solar panels are producing electricity because of Bill. These panels will produce electricity for a very long time. Bill is a volunteer who organizes other volunteers. He also works constantly to improve all other aspects of solar power in Kansas. Bill is a long-time supporter of the Climate + Energy Project and an active member of the Clean Energy Business Council.  He is a wealth of knowledge on solar and has been a consistent voice educating and advocating for solar energy in Kansas for decades.

Mark Richardson Sustainer Award: A volunteer-recognition award for an individual who has regularly engaged with CEP for at least five years

Zack Pistora, Sierra Club, KNRC, Kansas Rural Center

Zack Pistora is the Legislative Director for the Kansas Chapter of the Sierra Club where he strives to provide information and analysis for members, and support to state legislators regarding environmental issues. He represents Sierra Club and other Kansans on issues such as water conservation, hydraulic fracking, energy efficiency, clean energy, and more at the Kansas State Legislature.  He is also an active board member of the Kansas Natural Resources Council and the Kansas Rural Center.  Zack is a long-time friend and supporter of the Climate + Energy Project.  He's always ready to jump in and lend a hand, whether it be managing the recycling after WEALTH Day or organizing legislative visits.  For at least eight years, Zack has been a reliable partner, volunteer, and friend to CEP.   

Mary Adams Treaster, former CEP Board member, CURB board member

Mary Adams Treaster served on the board of the Climate + Energy Project for six years, including four as the board treasurer. Prior to her engagement on the board, Mary was a dedicated volunteer for CEP at the Annual State Fair booth for Wind Works for Kansas. Her strong public engagement for renewables included being a member of the original Reno County Wind Energy Task Force. Her commitment to Kansas energy solutions continues on with her recent appointment to the Kansas Citizen’s Utility Ratepayer Board in 2019. Mary’s commitment to CEP has shared her time, talent, and treasure to make CEP stronger.

Changemaker Award: Recognition for an organization or individual whose recent (1-3 years) work has significantly advanced climate, energy, and/or environmental issues in Kansas.

Jasmin Moore, AICP Douglas County Sustainability Director

Jasmin has become a leader in sustainability planning efforts across Northeast Kansas. Most recently, her leadership has guided the Climate Action KC Playbook on issues of health equity and environmental justice, in addition to her role as the Sustainability Coordinator for Douglas County, Kansas. Jasmin is an active change agent for sustainability and social justice with national and local impact. She led the push to source 60% of Douglas County government facilities from wind energy at a reduced cost to the county. She also led the City of Lawrence to commit to 100% renewable energy by 2035. Jasmin has been locally and nationally recognized for her equity efforts, including being named a Kresge Foundation Population Health Scholar and the recipient of a University of Kansas 2020 Sustainability Leadership Award. She is a founding member of the recently formed Douglas County Equity Coalition, which brings together and coordinates equity efforts of institutions such as local governments, universities, school districts, hospitals, and nonprofits. She also currently serves as an Equity Advisor to the Douglas County COVID-19 Recovery Coordination Team.

Stanley Bergkamp, Maize Public Schools

As a Maize High School teacher, Stanley Bergkamp inspires students to take action on climate issues through the  Maize Solar Initiative. The mission of the Maize Solar Initiative is to raise funds to install systems that convert sunlight into electricity thus saving the district money, reducing carbon emissions, and leaving a legacy for future generations. The Maize Solar Foundation and the See Beyond Campaign successfully developed and implemented a fundraising strategy that raised over $200,000 and secured the financing to install a 720 panel, 200 kW ground mounted solar array at Maize High School in June of 2019. Not only was the campaign successful financially, it also raised awareness among the students, alumni, and businesses of the viability of renewable energy. He served as a role model for students demonstrating that with hard work and a vision, they can make a difference in their world. In the first year of operation ending June 6, 2020, they system saved over $32,000 for the Maize District.

With your help, we can create positive sustainable change in Kansas. Join us in honoring our award winners on Thursday, October 1st for Visions of a Resilient Kansas: Change is in the Air, our annual fundraiser and awards ceremony. 

RSVP Today!

Thanks to event sponsors: Kansas Interfaith Action, Kansas Rural Center, and individual donor Jessica Lucas.

For more information about the Climate + Energy Awards, contact:

Dorothy Barnett, Executive Director, Climate + Energy Project - 785-424-0444,

The Climate & Energy Project seeks to dramatically reduce greenhouse gas emissions in America's Heartland through the ambitious deployment of energy efficiency and renewable energy, in policy and practice.